Thankful.

24 Nov

I’m sitting here, having taken a break from a bevy of baking and cooking for my friend’s Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow. And I’m thinking about the things I’m thankful for.

We spend a lot of time getting angry, being hurt and frustrated over our struggle for Equality. We get very upset about complacency and laziness within our movement, about wrongheaded tactics and a lack of solidarity. So many of us thinking it’s not our fight to fight – and it gets exhausting.

So I’m taking this moment to be thankful and I wanted to let you know. I’m thankful for people like David Mixner who has been fighting this fight for decades and is eager to pass the torch to the younger generation of activists, full of love, support and guidance all the way.

I’m thankful for activists like Jay Carmona and Robin McGehee, Eric Ethington in Utah and Mike McKinney in Vermont, David Mailloux in Boston – all taking to the streets and organizing in beautiful poignant ways, demanding that our leaders be accountable for their promises and duties and teaching our community that there is strength in self.

I’m thankful for the brilliant allies who have stood up for members of our community publicly – our straight brothers and sisters and parents and classmates – they are the ones who make us more than a minority.

I’m thankful for my family who has been always-supportive, loving and kind and even making that extra step and bringing up Equality in situations when they know they may be judged for it. They don’t care. And it’s because they love me.

I’m thankful for the organizations that are doing work on our behalf, moving our equality forward in small towns, big cities and on Capitol Hill and the Oval Office.

But mostly, I am thankful for all the people who’ve taken the brave step to tell your story. We believe that it is through our own stories that we will find our equality.

So, we hope you all have a marvelous Thanksgiving, wherever you may be. We hope and encourage you spend some time around the dinner table talking about Equality if you can and we hope you can look around that table and be truly thankful.

Jamie & Sean

4 Responses to “Thankful.”

  1. mummcg November 25, 2010 at 4:46 am #

    Jamie….you bring such joy to everyone you encounter…(with a couple of recent exceptions), you are trying to save the world when oftentimes it seems that world doesn’t want saving. It’s such a battle sometimes honey…and it would have been so easy for you to give up. You don’t give up, you won’t give up…you get angry and get right back up, and miraculously pull everyone else back up with you. You convince everyone to keep fighting the good fight. (even if you’re dying inside). You are so very special Jamie. I love you, and I well up with pride to imagine you are my son. I’m thankful for you honey. Much Love, Mum

  2. mummcg November 25, 2010 at 4:49 am #

    November 25, 2010 at 4:46 am # Jamie….you bring such joy to everyone you encounter…(with a couple of recent exceptions), you are trying to save the world when oftentimes it seems that world doesn’t want saving. It’s such a battle sometimes honey…and it would have been so easy for you to give up. You don’t give up, you won’t give up…you get angry and get right back up, and miraculously pull everyone else back up with you. You convince everyone to keep fighting the good fight. (even if you’re dying inside). You are so very special Jamie. I love you, and I well up with pride to imagine you are my son. I’m thankful for you honey. Much Love, Mum

    Your comment is awaiting moderation.

  3. Erica Zaveloff November 29, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    Sean I am so thankful to have you as my friend. I don’t have such a deep, playful, and understanding connection with any other person I know. Only with you do I know that even a trip to buy kool-aid will be the furthest thing from boring. It makes me so happy that we have stayed so close despite our geographical distance, and it makes me even happier that you have found such a fantastic person as Jamie (even though it means that Sean and I are no longer “married” :) ). Jamie, I loved that we could meet when I was back in the states over the summer. You are a funny, intelligent, and determined person and I look forward to spending more time with you once I am back that side. I am thankful for the work that you both are doing and the historic path that you are paving. Our future, and hopefully present, will be better because of you. Thank you both so much. Know that I love you guys, and miss you all the time. Keeps it real.

  4. V August 24, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    Shameful !!! Jamie we love you !

    Gay equality should exist as a norm of fact and thought period !

    Sadly for a reason that simply makes no sense we live without equality in the UK while politicians like the British conservative party want our vote, when 150 plus of their members of parliament voted AGAINST Gay equality, over 50 of them voted very strongly against gay equality!
    I live with my disabled gay Civil partner (we are not permitted to call it a Marriage as that is illegal, ONLY heterosexuals can call it Marriage) in West Berkshire England and have experienced extraordinary persecution while the authorities totally ignore this year long hate crime, etc !

    British nationalism and intolerance under this “Government” is on the increase, and Gay (LGBT) people are treated increasingly as second class citizens, persecuted, and hated.

    This Tory UK “government” wishes to abandoned the European Human rights Act this UK Government signed up for. They say it “protects the wrong people” ? I guess any minority, non hetero, non conservative Tory are the “wrong people” !

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 934 other followers

